Executive Board

Co-Presidents: Joanna Moody & Sonja Boet-Whitaker

Joanna Moody <jcmoody at mit dot edu> is a third year Ph.D. candidate in the Interdisciplinary Program in Transportation. As a member of the JTL Urban Mobility Lab, Joanna explores how implicit or subconscious biases and preferences related to car usage and ownership can influence travel behavior and impact transportation planning and operations. Also as a member of the Regional Transportation and High Speed Rail Group, Joanna works in collaboration with the East Japan Railway Company researching international high-speed rail developments as complex socio-technical systems, with a particular interest in how the technology and infrastructure interface with governing and managing institutions and users. At MIT, Joanna has received both a USDOT University Transportation Funding Center Fellowship (2014) and the U.S. Department of Transportation FHWA Eisenhower Graduate Fellowship (2015 and 2016). She has served as the Transportation Club VP, Transportation Showcase and as the coordinator for the MIT Center for Transportation and Logistics lecture series for the past two years. She holds a Masters of Science in Transportation degree from MIT as well as Bachelors degrees in Mathematics, Physics, and Japanese from Bates College.

Sonja Boet-Whitaker <sonjakbw at mit dot edu>

Treasurer: Scott Middleton

Scott Middleton <smiddle at mit dot edu> is a second year Master of Science in Transportation and Master in City Planning dual-degree student at MIT. Originally from Plainville, Connecticutt, Scott studied history and urban studies at Brown University, where he wrote his senior thesis on the impacts of deindustrialization in Southern New England. Before coming to MIT, Scott worked as a community planner at the USDOT's Volpe Center in Cambridge, MA. His work at the DOT focused on a range of transportation topics, including highway safety, environmental streamlining, and transit operations. Scott's current research interests include high-speed rail and the environmental impacts of passenger and freight transportation. Outside of academics, Scott is an avid cyclist, a mediocre runner, and a passionate traveler.

Vice President, Transportation Showcase: André Snoeck

André Snoeck <asnoeck at mit dot edu> is a research assistant and Ph.D. candidate in the Megacity Logistics Lab at the MIT Center for Transportation and Logistics. His research focuses on the last mile of urban freight transportation and he conducts various products in cooperation with companies such as Coca-Cola, FEMSA, and AB InBev. Before coming to MIT, he received both his Bachelor's and Master's in Industrial Engineering at Eindhoven University of Technology in the Netherlands with a specialization in Operations Management and Logistics. In between, he co-founded Solar Team Eindhoven to develop Stella, the world's first solar-powered family car to show the world what the future of transportation looks like. The team won the 2013 Bridgestone World Solar Challenge, followed by the award for Best Technology Achievement at the annual Silicon Valley Crunchie awards in 2015, beating Apple Pay and SpaceX.

Activities Coordinator: Felix Naser

Felix Naser <fnaser at mit dot edu> is a visiting German master student (Automotive Software Engineering at Technical University of Munich) working at the newly founded Research Center for Autonomous Cars at CSAIL. His main interest is the future of mobility, especially in urban environments. He gained practical experience at BMW, Rolls-Royce Motor Cars Ltd. in Goodwood and at a car service station.

Website & Media: Nate Bailey

Nate Bailey <nbailey at mit dot edu> is a third-year student in the Interdepartmental Doctoral Program in Transportation. Nate previously obtained a B.S. in Industrial Engineering and Operations Research from UC Berkeley as well as a Masters of Science in Transportation from MIT. His current research focuses on combining traffic simulation of self-driving vehicles in urban traffic with queueing network models in order to understand how the presence self-driving vehicles may change the solutions to large-scale urban transportation problems.

Previous Executive Boards


2015-2016 Executive Board

  • Caroline Jaffe, SM'17 — Co-President
  • Alex Salz, MST'16 — Co-President
  • Patton Doyle, MST'16 — Treasurer
  • Joanna Moody, MST'16 — VP, Transportation Showcase
  • Javier Morales Sarriera, MST'16 — Activities Coordinator
  • Nate Bailey, MST'16 — Website & Media


2014-2015 Executive Board

  • Sam Levy, MST'15 — Co-President
  • David Perlman, TPP'15 — Co-President
  • Nathanael Cox, MST'15 — Treasurer
  • Andrew Lai, MCP'16 — VP, Transportation Showcase & Hackathon
  • Yalu Wu, LGO'15 — VP, Transportation Showcase & Hackathon
  • Tracy Zhang, MST'15 — VP, Seminar Series
  • Abdelkrim Doufene, ESD PhD Candidate — VP, Seminar Series
  • Paul Natsuo Kishimoto, ESD PhD Candidate — Website & Media


2013–2014 Executive Board

  • Hèctor Fornes, TPP & AeroAstro'15 — Co-President
  • Ryan Westrom, MST'14 — Co-President
  • Iori Mori, TPP'14 — Treasurer
  • Alexandre Jacquillat, ESD PhD candidate — VP Social
  • Franco Chingcuanco, TPP & MST'14 — VP Transportation Showcase & Hack-a-thon
  • Maite Peña-Alcaraz, ESD PhD candidate — VP Transportation Showcase & Hack-a-thon
  • Steven Zoepf, ESD PhD candidate — VP Seminar Series
  • Tracy Zhang, MST'15 — VP Seminar Series
  • David Perlman, TPP'15 — VP Transportation Camp (New England)


2012–2013 Executive Board

  • Maite Peña Alcaraz, ESD PhD candidate — Co-President
  • Laura B. Viña-Arias, MST & MCP'13 — Co-President
  • Cathy Wu — Treasurer
  • Andrés Felipe Archila, MST'13 — VP of Operations
  • Paul Kishimoto, TPP'12 — VP of Operations
  • Alexandre Jacquillat, TPP'12 & ESD PhD candidate — VP Transportation Showcase and Hack-a-thon
  • Sunny Vanderboll, MST'13 — VP Transportation Showcase and Hack-a-thon
  • S. Joel Carlson, MST & ESD'14 — VP Seminar Series
  • Stephen Zoepf, ESD PhD candidate — VP Seminar Series
  • Gilad Rosenzweig, MCP'13 — VP Transportation Tours
  • Christine Sowa, B.Sc.'14 — Undergraduate Liaison


  • Vig Krishnamurthy, MCP '12 — Co-President
  • R.J. Martinez — Co-President
  • Paul Natsuo Kishimoto — Treasurer
  • Laura B. Viña-Arias — Transportation Showcase Coordinator
  • Maite Peña-Alcaraz — Seminars Co-Director
  • Stephen Zoepf — Seminars Co-Director
  • Dominic McConnachie — Tours Director


  • Regina Clewlow, ESD PhD '13 — President
  • Kari Hernandez, MST'11 — Vice-President
  • Alex Zheng — Vice-President
  • Candace Brakewood — Treasurer
  • Stephen Zoepf — Director of Guest Seminars
  • Jim Morrison — Director of Career Development
  • Vig Krisnamurthy — Director of Tours
  • Chris Grillo — Director of Alumni Relations
  • Andrew Lee — Social Chair